Thursday, November 30News That Matters

Parliament of Uganda @100

The Ugandan Parliament has commemorated the first ever Centenary celebration of Legislation.Yesterday afternoon in a special sitting of the 10th Parliament chaired by House Speaker Rt. Hon. Rebeccah Alitwala Kadaga, a motion for resolution of Parliament to commemorate the 100years of the existence of Uganda’s legislature has been moved by Budyebo County Constituency MP Hon. Wilson Muruli Mukasa and seconded by a whole house.

I convey my heartfelt congratulations to the leadership of Parliament;  Speaker Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga, the Deputy Speaker Rt. Hon. Jacob L’okori  Oulanya, the Leader of Government Business also the Premier Rt. Hon. Dr. Ruhakana Rugunda and the Leader of Opposition Rt.Hon. Betty Aol Ocan , all MPs and the people of Ugandans on the occasion of the 100th Anniversary of the Parliament of the Republic of Uganda.   Hongera sana!
Legislation in Uganda found its root in 1920 with formation of the Legislative Council (LEGCO) which replaced the colonial and despotic 1902 ordinance which had established a system of legislation through the promulgation of colonial decrees by the commissioner / representative of the British Crown. 
LEGCO held its first meeting on March 23rd 1921 at the Government House in Entebbe and there after at the Town Hall now Kampala City Council Headquarters(City Hall). 
Parliament has underwent a lot and has achieved alot. it has grown from the seven members since its inception (LEGCO) to over 459 MPs of the 10th Parliament. 
Thought the 100years, Parliament has widened  its mandate to  legislation, representation, appropriation and oversight. 
As Parliament marks 100years, its imperative to pay tribute to the administration of Parliament since its inception for the tremendous contribution to the legislature. 
past speakers include;
1.Hon. Sir John Bowes Griffin Q.C (MP) Speaker ,LEGCO 1958- 1962 and the National Assembly 1962 – 1963.
2. Hon. Narendra Patel (MP) Speaker (1963- 1971)
3. Hon. Edward Rugumayo (MP) Chairman National Consultative Council (1979 – 1980)
4. Hon. Alexander Waibale (MP) Chairman, National Consultative Council (22nd May – 16th September 1980)
5. Hon. Francis Butagira (MP)Speaker (1980- 1985)
6. H.E Yoweri Kaguta Museveni  Chairman , National Resistance Council (1986- 1996)
7. Hon. James Wapakhabulo (MP) Speaker (1996 – 1998)
8. Hon. Francis J. Ayume (MP) Speaker (1998 – 2001)
9.Hon. Edward Kiwanuka Ssekandi  (MP)Speaker (2001 – 2011)
10.Hon. Rebeccah Alitwala Kadaga (MP)Speaker (2011 to date)
Currently we have a bi cameral Parliament operating under a multi party political dispensation.; The two sides of the opposition and the Government side. The Government side is led by Leader of Government business who is also the Prime Minister where as the opposition  side   is led by Leader of Opposition who is selected from the largest Opposition Party within Parliament. 
Past leaders of opposition includes;
1. Hon. Apollo Milton Obote (MP)Leader of Opposition (1961 – 1962)Uganda People’s Congress (UPC)
2. Hon. Bendicto Kagimu Mugumbya Kiwanuka (MP) Leader of Opposition (1962- ) Democratic Party (DP)
3.Hon. Basil Kiiza Batalingaya (MP)Leader of Opposition (1962 – 1964)Democratic Party (DP)
4. Hon. Alex Latim (MP)Leader of Opposition (1964 – 1971)Democratic Party (DP)
5. Hon. Dr. Paul Kawanga Ssemwogerere (MP)Leader of Opposition (1980 – 1985) Democratic Party (DP)
6. Hon. Prof. Morris Ogenga Latigo (MP) Leader of Opposition (2006 – 2011)Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)
7. Hon. Nathan Nandala-Mafabi (MP)Leader of Opposition (2011 – 2013)Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)
8. Hon. Philip Wafula Oguttu (MP)Leader of Opposition (2013 – 2016)Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)
9.Hon. Winfred Kiiza Bihande (MP)Leader of Opposition (2016 – 2018)Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)
10. Hon. Betty Aol Ocan (MP)Leader of Opposition (2018 todate)Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)
Parliament has over the 100years had its challenges; the besieging of Parliament in 1967 by the army as Parliament was enacting the pigeon hall constitution tabled by then attorney General the late Godfrey Binaisa Lukongwa as Parliament passed it without debating it. , the passing of the public order management act without quorum., army besieging of Parliament during the debate on the lifting of the age limit bill , army (Special Forces Command – SFC) entered the Chambers, clobbered MPs, and arrested MPs opposed to the lifting of the age limit. Among others.
Congratulations to the Legislature for the centenary celebrations.
Mulindwa Walid LubegaFDC National Youth Chairman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *