Thursday, September 28Elite News ---- For Adverts or Story call: 0788166280 | 0705145487-----

Serere County to replace ex-legislator  in a hotly contested by election today.

Finally Serere County is voting to replace ex-legislator Patrick Okabe who died recently in an accident.
By 6:00am, the electoral Commission had dispatched all polling materials including registers, ballot boxes, ballot papers, biometric voter verification kits among others at all polling stations.
The EC spokesperson Mr. Paul Bukenya said, “Election officials and supervisors have been deployed to the respective polling stations across the 138 polling stations in Serere County.
According to the Serere District Returning Officer Ms. Sylvia Cheptegei Nagendo, a total of 74,394 voters are expected to part in the voting across the seven sub-counties making Serere county.
Atiira Sub County has 9,675 voters, Kateta 21,509 votes, Kyere 17,820 voters, Serere-Olio 14,129 voters, Serere town council 4,325 voters, Kyere town council 2,809 voters and Ochapa town council with 4,127 voters.
The Serere county parliamentary by election attracted five candidates including; Alice Alaso of The Alliance for National Transformation (ANT), Emmanuel Eratu of Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), Phillip Oucor of National Resistance Movement (NRM), Emmanuel Omoding (independent) and Martin Onguruco (independent).
Serere county parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of Patrick Okabe, the county’s former Member of Parliament. Okabe died in an accident along the Tirinyi- Mbale road on December 19, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *