Sunday, March 26Elite News ---- For Adverts or Story call: 0788166280 | 0705145487-----

Five candidates nominated to replace Okabe in Serere County by-election.

The Independent Electoral Commission’s returning officer for Serere District, Cheptegei Nangendo Sylvia, has nominated five Member of Parliament candidates who will participate in the Serere County by-election.
The MP seat fell vacant last year when the then MP Patrick Okabe, together with his wife, died in a motor accident.
The nominated candidates are Emmanuel Omonding (Independent), Emmanuel Eratu (FDC), Martin Ongurucho (Independent), Alice Alaso (ANT) and Philip Oucor (NRM). Gilbert Etomet (JEEMA) and Joel Obore (NUP) didn’t turn up for nomination despite earlier expressing interest in the race.
The EX said the candidates will have nine days to campaign and convince supporters to vote them into the office ahead of the voting day on 23rd February 2023.
After the nomination of his candidate, NRM’s First National Vice Chairperson, Alhajji Moses Kigongo was confident they will win the by-election.
“We were not able to win Serere county in the general election, but our resolve this time is to win this election like we have done before in other areas,” Kigongo told journalists in Serere.

 112 total views,  2 views today


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :